The Day My Legs Were Singing


Yes for once they were singing instead of yelling.  I am amazed at the amount of things I have learned in such a short time since starting my journey.  Products that I would have never tried, I now will not go forward in doing any type of physical training without.  So what were my legs singing???  “Tommie Copper We Love You!!” For the first time in a long time (Since High School) I have been able to workout, go for a decent run, and not have my chins and calf muscles yelling obscene words to me.  At the age of 38, as much as I would like to think I can recover like I did as a high school athlete, I clearly do not.  After this last Saturday, that’s quite okay with me now that I have Tommie Copper in my world!

I was recently fortunate enough to receive a pair of calf sleeves from the very generous Jordan at TC.  Quite surprised when I opened the package and not only were the sleeves inside but a nice hat displaying the Tommie Copper name and the Cu29 logo.  I immediately opened the sleeves, put them on along with the hat then headed out for a full day of errand running.  More on how they felt after I explain what I have learned about compression and it’s benefits.

I knew when I decided to run 3 marathons in 4 weeks that I would have to do some homework on what would be needed to stay as healthy and injury free as I can be.  One of the first things I looked into was compression.  I figured I was very wrong with what my thoughts were about all of the compression wear.  I used to think it was only used as a base layer to stay warm during cooler temperature workouts.  I was so wrong!  After reading about different companies and what they had to offer in compression, I discovered Tommie Copper.  Now this company added something innovative.  Let’s use copper the known metal that has been used for thousands of years to treat inflammation.  Now this is something I must try!  The following is taken from the Tommie Copper website.

How is copper used in medicine?

Copper has been used in medicine for thousands of years, one of the world’s oldest medical texts, the Ebers Papyrus states, “Treat inflammation with pulverized copper”. Copper also stimulates the immune system to fight infections, to repair injured tissues, and to promote healing. Copper has been shown to neutralize “free-radicals” which can cause severe damage to cells. Symptoms of copper deficiency include osteoporosis, osteoarthritis, and rheumatoid arthritis.

How does the body use copper

Copper is necessary for the growth, development, and maintenance of bone, connective tissue, brain, heart, and many other body organs. It is involved in the formation of red blood cells, the absorption and utilization of iron, and the synthesis and release of life-sustaining proteins and enzymes. These enzymes in turn produce cellular energy and regulate nerve transmission, blood clotting, and oxygen transport.Copper stimulates the immune system to fight infections, repair injured tissues, and promote healing. Copper also helps to neutralize “free-radicals” which can cause severe damage to cells.
Symptoms of copper deficiency include osteoporosis, osteoarthritis and rheumatoid arthritis.What are the benefits of compression?

The most important thing to remember is that compression products are only beneficial when they are being worn. If they are uncomfortable, bulky and can only be worn for short periods of time, they will not be very effective. That is why all Tommie Copper products are manufactured using a proprietary compression fabric combined with copper infused yarn that by design is so comfortable you may forget you are wearing it.Compression helps stabilize muscle tissue, keeping the swelling of muscle fibers at a micro and manageable level. The benefits of compression and the ability of compression to increase oxygen blood flow to the muscles cannot be overstated. Gravity can cause a build-up of fluid in the muscles and surrounding tissue, not only from overuse or repetitive movements, but also during and after exercise. This increased swelling will often result in limited mobility and pain due to inflammation. Without wearing compression, the result can be muscle damage, including micro-tears leading to inflammation. Compression helps reduce the inflammation that might slow down the recovery process and therefore helps reduce Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness (DOMS).

What I found when putting the sleeves on was the feeling of a much tighter than normal over the calf dress sock without the rest of the sock from the lower chin below.  I walked around the house and did some walking around the yard to see how fast I would get used to them.  The surprising part came after about 15 minutes of having them on.  I no longer felt the sleeves.  I kept having to check to see if they had shifted down, but nope, still in the exact same spot.  The feeling that I received was like I have never felt before.  When just walking with a normal heal strike, I felt absolutely no tension from my chins, and I didn’t have that annoying itchy feeling that I get after about 30 minutes of having my dress socks on.

Off to the errand running I went.  Sleeves on the calves, and hat proudly displayed.  At a local sporting goods store I felt like a walking infomercial.  The hat was quite the conversation starter with people asking if Tommie Copper was a new golf company.  Each time the question was asked by about 5 different people, I just started in by saying “No, they make these awesome compression sleeves I’m wearing!” and up went the warmup pant leg showing the Tommie Copper banner across the top of the sleeves.  Each one of the conversations ended with me talking about how excited I was to run in them the next morning and each of the people asking me for and writing down the website.

5:30AM Sunday morning came with me not removing the sleeves since putting them on at 3PM the day before.  Still feeling like they are not on, I get out of bed and when I stand up, what a rush of excitement I received!!  It was like I had stretched all night while sleeping.  What was more surprising was walking downstairs to get ready for my 6 mile run and for the first time in years, I did not hear the first walk down the stairs popping from my ankles!!  Once at my location, my run was awesome!  There was no getting through the first half-mile before getting my legs warmed up.  Such a relaxed 6 miles with everything feeling great!  No heat up from having the sleeves on was a huge plus, having the extra layer was non-existent.

After just the one day and one run, I’m sold and will be purchasing multiple pairs of these sleeves to rotate out.  I had to take them off to shower, but before showering, they took a dip into the washing machine and the dryer rack and were right back on for the rest of the day and night.  My Monday morning wake up had no soreness or tightness from that 6 miles.

Tommie Copper will be with me every step of every mile during my Three Marathons in Four Weeks!  I won’t have it any other way!!!  I’m looking forward to April for the release of the compression shorts and will be adding the shirt to my lineup!!  Check them out!

http://www.tommiecopper.com

Also don’t forget to visit my sponsor Running4themasses, an excellent source of information covering daily inspiration, nutrition tips, injury preventation, and full detailed non-biased reviews on all things running

Leave a Reply

