Progress Report 8/8/2012


Hello all,

I wanted to check in and provide a quick update on my progress.  With 45 days until I hear the gunshot at the start of the 2012 Omaha Marathon, I’m feeling really good about the way things are progressing.  My mileage is increasing nicely and each run is feeling better and stronger.  Speaking of strength, my personal training is making such a huge difference!  I am so happy that I decided to take part in adding this element to my training.  In the last couple of months, I have been able to both feel and see a physical change in myself.  I have been seeing my body fat percentage drop while building lean muscle along with learning new ways of stretching and some great conditioning tools that have completely transformed my posture in a very positive way.  As a matter of fact, in the last three weeks I’ve seen a 1% drop in my body fat while in the same time frame adding  7lbs to my weight.  Good old fashion lean muscle!!

Some other exciting things that happen this week just occurred today.  It’s one thing that the company I work for is so interested in its employees wellness and overall health that they offer a monthly 5k fun run welcoming and encouraging all employees to either run or walk.  All of this is part of a company-wide healthy challenge for the employees to enter a road race before the end of October.  I have never seen anything like it before in all my years of working, and am thrilled to be a part of it.  Today was a day that had me in awe.  While on the route for the 3mile run, our CIO (Who was running with the employees) took the time to run with every member of the group that I was on.  When getting back to me we began talking about marathons and my upcoming challenge.

I thought to myself, “How cool is it that I’m running along side of our CIO and talking about my races, blog, and training.”  It doesn’t get any better than that!  Well, I was wrong because when I completed my run, there he was again at the finish, but this time standing next to our CEO, and there I was talking to both of them about my races.  What a awesome and surreal way of capping a great run.

I wanted to keep this progress report short as there is still plenty of  the week left over to prep for writing about more excitement that is coming by weeks end.  Stay tuned!!!  Also coming at the end of the week and this weekend will be some product reviews for various nutritional products.

P.S. Here’s a new pic with me wearing my Saucony tee after today’s run.

Until this weekend, everyone have a great rest of the week and….  FIND YOUR STRONG!!

Leave a Reply

